Posted by: word4men | August 19, 2009

He Is My Refuge and My Fortress

Stirling Castle

 

He is my refuge and my fortress
1 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
My God, in Him I will trust.”

3 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler[a]
And from the perilous pestilence.
4 He shall cover you with His feathers,
And under His wings you shall take refuge;
His truth shall be your shield and buckler.
5 You shall not be afraid of the terror by night,
Nor of the arrow that flies by day,
6 Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness,
Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.
I don’t know exactly why, but two weeks ago, I began to contemplate Psalm 91. I really don’t know why. It came to me by what in my mind was sheer coincidence. I remember the next 2 verses talking about though you are in battle and men are falling all about you God will keep you (A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you.) being quoted to the old man dying (supposedly) in the middle of the Sean Thornton/Red Will Danaher melee at the end of The Quiet Man. I had heard on a Biography Channel show about Jimmy Stewart that his father gave him a new Bible with the 91st marked for him when he went to Europe to fly B-17’s over Europe. But I can’t say I had a personal experience with the Psalm…I had with several…115, 40, 31, 103, 95. Well, in personal devotion and corporate worship, I have really gotten into many Psalms, but not 91. I don’t know why not, but I haven’t.
Then, as I said it came to me…well on second thought, not out of the blue, but through the Bible study our church is doing on Psalm 119. Psalm 119:114 speaks about God and His word being a “hiding place and shield.” It got to me. I cross referenced to Psalm 91. Hmmm. Last week when training in Atlanta I was asked to give a devotion for an IDT meeting (all the different care givers discuss the patients together), and of course I worked from the first 6 verses of Psalm 91. I will post that for you all a bit later. But Hospice folks, indeed all healthcare pros need a hiding place. A safe place to dump emotions they absorb from being exposed to the suffering they deal in and their own emotions and stresses. Indeed, everyone needs a refuge.
Today I met a lady on my first visit in God’s new ministry for me. We were bringing in both her mother and husband to the system. But on the way the nurse doing the initial interview called and said the mother may be dying in hours so we sped up. Needless to say, I spent most of my day with that family. The daughter/wife who is the main caregiver for both ailing patients needed a refuge. What better than Psalm 91. Just a short prayer with a lady beginning to grieve an imminent loss. Then a short talk with a non-responsive lady. The reading of a Psalm (yes 91) and telling her it was OK. Her daughter had a refuge and a fortress. Someone that would keep her from the snares and pestilence of hopelessness. It was as if I had never been away from the ministry of healthcare chaplaincy. It was home. It is home. Praise be to God who knows the desires of our hearts when even we don’t.
Find your Refuge, your Fortress. They are actually a person…a God. Jesus Christ.
Stirling CastleStirling Castle

Responses

  1. YOU are God’s right hand here on earth, YOU do good work, keep it up and God Bless my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

